I’ve been home recouping from foot surgery for about a week. I have 2.5 weeks to go. Boredom has certainly set in! I’ve had plenty of time for social media…

Just about every day (for the past couple of months, actually) social media has had postings about the atrocity of people choosing to say Happy Holidays (or not “being allowed” to say Merry Christmas). Let me say first – I’ve only actually heard “Happy Holidays” once during this holiday season.

Yes, I say “holiday” season. It’s not just the Christmas season. It’s the season of Hanukah, Kwanzaa, and Diwali as well.

I am a Christian. I’m Catholic. I celebrate Christmas. I celebrate the birth of Christ Jesus (even though he couldn’t have been born in December – more likely in the spring. But that’s another post itself)! I attend Midnight Mass and look for the baby Jesus to finally show up in the manger.

I know Jewish people who celebrate Hanukah. I know African-Americans who celebrate Kwanzaa. I know Indian people who celebrate Diwali. Do the “Happy Holidays” dissenters not feel these friends should be wished a happy celebration as well? Do they think this is only the time of Christmas?

Is that very Christian-like?

So if you wish me a Merry Christmas, thank you! But I’m also not going to be distressed if you wish me a happy holiday. I’m just thankful you wish me well!

Happy Everything Platter1

So Merry Christmas to my Christian friends … and HAPPY HOLIDAYS to EVERYone :0-)

BlogSig