a98fa9ea1b4e7dd45e4f0b3fbb95aebd

We are often our own worst enemy. I know I am!

I’ve perfected the “what the hell was I thinking?!” mantra.

So how do you get OUT of that mind set?

Only YOU can do it. No one else … NO ONE.

Instead of being your own worst enemy, become you own best friend.

Self-talk needs to be embedded in your brain.

At a conference several years ago I heard Judi Moreo speak. The topic was “You Are More Than Enough.” She wrote a book of the same name. Go visit her website … now! www.judimoreo.com Her book and the companion Achievement Journal are a must. The journal will take you through an entire year. If you ever felt that you were meant to “be more than you are” or achieve more than you have, then this set is for you.

Judi taught me a lot that day! Now when I hear friends complain about themselves, I remind them they are “more than enough!”

This all boils down to accepting yourself. And if you screw up, you must learn to forgive yourself. None of us are perfect. We all make mistakes.

keep-calm-and-accept-yourself-3

Yes, I’ve not always made the best choices in my life. But I can honestly say that I’ve learned from those choices. And that’s all that matters.

Yes, I’m fat. Now before you get on me about being negative and telling me I’m not really fat … yes, I am! I admit it. I’m not overweight … I’m fat! I’ve tried every diet and every supplement imaginable. I just have to accept that I’m never going to be 105 pounds again. But I’m healthy. I’m happy. The hubster thinks I’m beautiful. That’s more than enough!

I’m not saying that you shouldn’t bother trying to lose weight. If that’s what you really want to do, or if you need to for health reasons, go for it! I’m just saying that for me, I’m okay. I don’t need 2 seats on an airplane. I can still go up and down stairs without needing oxygen. I’m not grossly obese. I just have some extra “me” for my maybe-someday grandchildren to hug :0)

Am I the best housekeeper in the world? No. But did I attend every baseball and soccer game my son played in when he still lived at home? Yup. But even now that the kid is an adult, it’s more important that I spend quality time with the hubster when we can. We don’t live in a dump, but I wouldn’t want the house displayed in a magazine either.  And I work hard and put in a lot of hours, so when I do get home, sweeping the floor isn’t usually my priority. To me it’s more important to “be” than to have a pristine house. I’ve accepted that my house is often messy.

Those are just a couple examples. I’ve learned that I am happy with me. If others judge, well…that’s their problem.

It’s healthier for me to be happy with me.

Every day you need to do something that makes YOU feel good. It can be something for yourself or something for another. It doesn’t matter.

JUST BE GOOD TO YOURSELF.

BlogSig