Back in the mid 80s, my sister-in-law told me I had to watch this movie…it was hilarious and would just crack me up. So I rented it and later that evening while Bruce was at work and Jeremy was in bed, I popped it in thinking I’d have a funny and heart-warming couple of hours.

I remember saying to her the next time I saw her … “Whatever made you think that movie was funny????”

The movie? Beaches

Beaches

What my sister-in-law saw: a quirky friendship between two women who meant the world to each other.

What I saw: a sad story about a young mother dying of cancer leaving a 5-year-old little girl behind.

Talk about hitting home! When the song “Wind Beneath My Wings” sung by Bette Midler was playing, I sobbed … and sobbed … and sobbed! At the time, we were trying desperately to have a second baby – infertility clinic – in vitro – the whole works! This was a time when I would have given anything to not have lost my momma to cancer when I was 5 and to have her around to hug me and tell me everything would be okay.

To this day, whenever I hear that song it affects me. Sometimes I smile because it just reminds me of momma; sometimes it makes me sad because even after 51 years, I just miss her so much some days; and sometimes it will bring tears to my eyes for all the lost years we didn’t get to have together. It’s the only song that really affects me so strongly.

We all react differently to experiences for different reasons. Some smile, some laugh, and some cry!

What’s that song that has made you cry? Why?

BlogSig