The answer to that question is something I didn’t have to think more than a second about! It was the summer of 1977 and I lived in a very small apartment (that was actually a converted garage). I had never been or lived alone before. I had just left a very abusive marriage and I was 20 years old. I really just didn’t know what to do. I certainly didn’t want to go back to New York and here the “I told you so” speech. I wanted to make it on my own. But I was so very scared! But the life I left was scary too. What to do? What to do?

Phone booth at nightI remember one night sitting by myself contemplating that very question. I knew I would be welcomed home, but did I really want to go from one bad situation into another? It was a very “dark and turbulent” moment for sure. This was back in the day before cell phones and texting. So I walked down the street … in the dark … by myself … to the payphone. I can remember standing there with my change and my hand hovering over the coin slot … for a long time.

Wherever the strength came from, I have no idea. But I put my hand down and the change in my pocket. I walked slowly back to my tiny little apartment, sat in the dark, and cried. I didn’t know how I would make it on my own … but I knew I had to do it. Things would have to get better.

And they did! A few months later I met my soul mate, my best friend, and my savior. I thank God each and every day for putting him in my life to rescue me from a very dark and turbulent time.

What was the most dark/turbulent moment in your life? How did you handle it? How did it turn out?

BlogSig